Health care in Canada: start with the province you land in
There is no single national health card in Canada: public coverage is run province by province, and the waiting periods and eligibility bars differ widely. This guide opens with one table covering all 13 provinces and territories — waiting periods and the days you must be present each year. Sections 1–7 then walk through British Columbia’s six “doors” (enrolling in MSP, joining the family-doctor registry, choosing between walk-in, urgent care and the ER, when to dial 8-1-1, where to read your results, and what pharmacists can do), plus 13 same-day clinics in Greater Victoria with their phone numbers. The appendices cover Ontario, Alberta and Quebec, and how study and work permits are treated in each province.
On this page
🍁 Start here · Health coverage is provincial: which province are you in?
In one line: Canada has no single national health card. Public coverage is run province by province — different plan names, different waiting periods, different day counts you must meet each year. The province you land in sets your rules. This section helps you find your row; sections 1–7 then walk through British Columbia in detail.
The thing that matters most: the waiting period. Some provinces cover you from day one; others make you wait two or three months. Where you must wait, you pay out of pocket in the meantime, and every official page gives the same advice: buy private health insurance before you leave (most policies exclude pre-existing conditions — pregnancy counts — so read the terms).
| Province / territory | Plan | Arriving from abroad | Moving from another province | Days you must be present |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BC | MSP | Rest of the arrival month + 2 full months | Same (your old province covers you until then) | 6 months per calendar year |
| Alberta | AHCIP | From the day you establish residency | First day of the third month | 183 days in any 12 months |
| Saskatchewan | Saskatchewan Health | On or before the first day of the third month after you arrive in Canada | First day of the third month | 5 months a year (lowest in Canada) |
| Manitoba | Manitoba Health | From the date of arrival | First day of the third month | Not stated on the official page |
| Ontario | OHIP | No waiting period | No waiting period | 153 days in any 12 months, plus 153 of your first 183 days here |
| Quebec | RAMQ | Up to 3 months, counted from the day you register | Same | 183 days per calendar year |
| New Brunswick | NB Medicare | From your first day here (if found to have settled permanently) | First day of the third month | Not stated on the official page |
| Nova Scotia | MSI | From the day you become a resident | First day of the third month | 183 days per calendar year |
| Prince Edward Island | PEI Medicare | First-day coverage | First day of the third month | 6 months plus a day each year |
| Newfoundland & Labrador | MCP | Not stated on the official page | Old province covers the rest of the arrival month + 2 months | Not stated on the official page |
| Yukon | YHCIP | 3 months, no exceptions | 3 months | No absence longer than 6 months |
| Northwest Territories | NWT Health Care Plan | Not stated on the official page | First day of the third month | 153 days per calendar year |
| Nunavut | NHCP | No waiting period in the official wording: you either qualify or you don’t (see Appendix 2) | Nunavut must be your primary place of residence | |
1. Covered from day one, in six provinces: Ontario, Alberta, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island.
2. You must bridge the gap yourself in: BC (about two and a half months), Quebec (up to 3 months), Saskatchewan and Yukon (3 months).
3. Quebec is the easiest place to get caught: its three months run from the day you register, not the day you land. Register late and you are covered late — registering with RAMQ should be your first errand.
If you need care during the wait:
- Moving from another province: your old plan covers you until the new one starts (Newfoundland states it most plainly: the former province covers "the remainder of the month you arrived… plus two additional months"). Do not cancel the old coverage before you move.
- Arriving from abroad: private insurance or your own pocket. Every official page says to buy it before you travel.
- Quebec has three exceptions that stay free during the wait: care needed by victims of domestic violence or sexual assault; care related to pregnancy, childbirth or termination of pregnancy; and infectious diseases with a public-health impact.
- Wherever you are, call 911 in an emergency. No emergency department turns away a critically ill patient for lack of a health card — though a bill will follow.
Talking to a nurse: in BC, Ontario, Alberta, Quebec, Saskatchewan and Nova Scotia (among others), dialling 8-1-1 reaches a registered nurse around the clock, free, usually with interpretation (BC: 130+ languages; Nova Scotia: 125+; Saskatchewan: 100+). In Quebec, 811 option 1 is health advice, option 2 is psychosocial support, option 3 is the primary care access point. Manitoba uses its own number — see the links in this section. Nunavut has no 811: call your local health centre, or the insurance office at 867-645-8001 (toll free 1-800-661-0833).
How this section was checked: every line was read against the official provincial page on 2026-09-17. Prince Edward Island and Yukon (both sites block automated access) were verified through official-page archive snapshots dated 2026-07-31 and 2026-08-03; the Nunavut page, which blocks automated access too, was read section by section in an ordinary browser. "Not stated on the official page" means the sentence genuinely is not there — in those cases, use the phone numbers in the links below.
🔗 Official links:
- Ontario: apply for OHIP and get a health card
- Alberta: moving to Alberta (AHCIP)
- Quebec: register with RAMQ
- Manitoba: moving to Manitoba
- Saskatchewan: eligibility for health benefits
- Nova Scotia: coverage if you move here
- New Brunswick: applying for Medicare
- PEI: health card for new residents
- Newfoundland & Labrador: MCP
- Newfoundland & Labrador: MCP FAQ (how long the old province covers you)
- Yukon: apply for a health care card
- Northwest Territories: general information for residents
- Nunavut: about the Health Care Plan & eligibility
- Nunavut: applying for health care (forms & office)
🪪 1 · MSP first: the coverage everything else needs
In one line: MSP (Medical Services Plan) is BC’s public health insurance — it pays for doctor visits and hospital care, and every other service on this page builds on it.
Who must enrol: All BC residents. Eligible people include Canadian citizens, permanent residents, and holders of work or study permits valid for 6 months or more who are making BC home (the official determination applies); you must also live in BC at least 6 months of each calendar year.
What to do:
- Apply online as soon as you arrive — the province explicitly says to apply right away rather than waiting out the waiting period.
- The waiting period: coverage begins after the remainder of the month in which you become a BC resident (for most newcomers, your arrival month; if you arrived as a visitor and later got a permit, the month you became eligible) plus 2 full months (commonly called “about 3 months”). Exemptions are rare; most newcomers go through it.
- Coverage during the wait: if you moved from another province, your previous provincial plan carries you until BC coverage starts; if you arrived from abroad, the province recommends buying private medical insurance before you arrive (most policies exclude pre-existing conditions — read the terms carefully).
- Once approved you receive a BC Services Card; the PHN (Personal Health Number) on it is the key to everything that follows — seeing doctors, joining the family-doctor registry, checking results.
- Need care before MSP starts? You can pay out of pocket at a clinic or the emergency room (ERs won’t turn away critical patients for lack of insurance, but you will be billed). Questions: Health Insurance BC, 1-800-663-7100.
🔗 Official links:
🩺 2 · Getting a family doctor: the Health Connect Registry
In one line: The Health Connect Registry is BC’s official province-wide waitlist for a family doctor or nurse practitioner: register once, and a coordinator contacts you when a provider in your community starts taking new patients.
Who it’s for: BC residents who currently have no family doctor or nurse practitioner; you can register yourself, family members, or someone in your care. Already attached to a provider? No need to register.
What to do:
- Have three things ready: your PHN (on your BC Services Card or BC driver’s licence), your home address, and an email and phone number. Registration takes about 5 minutes. Note: a PHN is required, so MSP enrolment (section 1) comes first.
- Register online at hcr.healthlinkbc.ca (entering from the official page linked below is the safest route).
- Not comfortable in English? Call 8-1-1 and register by phone — interpretation covers 130+ languages: once connected, name your language (“Mandarin” or “Cantonese”) and an interpreter joins the call.
- You’ll receive a confirmation email and progress updates; when a provider is available, an attachment coordinator contacts you. Keep your contact details up to date.
- While you wait: minor issues → a pharmacy (section 6) or a walk-in clinic; same-day urgent problems → a UPCC (section 3); not sure → call 811 (section 4).
🔗 Official links:
🚪 3 · UPCC vs walk-in vs emergency room
In one line: Three tiers for three levels of urgency — walk-in clinics for minor, non-urgent problems; UPCCs for things that must be seen today or tomorrow but aren’t life-threatening; the emergency room and 911 for anything that might be.
| Situation | Go to |
|---|---|
| Minor infections, simple rashes, prescription refills, sick notes, uncomplicated pain | Walk-in clinic (community clinic, no appointment, first come first served) |
| Needs attention within 12–24 hours: sprains and strains, high fever, minor burns, small cuts needing stitches, infections, urinary pain, a sudden flare-up of a chronic condition, new or worsening pain, emerging mental-health concerns | UPCC (Urgent and Primary Care Centre) |
| Possibly life-threatening (see the red flags below) | Call 911 or go straight to the nearest hospital ER |
911 / ER red flags (any one of these: call 911 — don’t drive yourself):
- Severe chest pain, tightness or pressure
- Difficulty breathing
- Weakness or numbness on one side, facial droop, slurred speech (signs of stroke)
- Loss of consciousness
- Heavy bleeding
- Major injury from an accident
About UPCCs: there are 46 province-wide, staffed by teams of family doctors, nurse practitioners, registered nurses and social workers. Patients are seen by urgency, not arrival order, and most centres are open evenings, weekends and statutory holidays (hours vary by centre). Victoria and all of Vancouver Island fall under Island Health; the seven Greater Victoria UPCCs, their booking line and six community clinics that take same-day calls are listed in section 7.
What to do:
- Find your nearest UPCC and its hours in the HealthLink BC directory, by city (link below).
- Not sure which tier? Call 8-1-1 first — a navigator or nurse helps you decide where to go (this is not a diagnosis).
- Bring your BC Services Card.
🔗 Official links:
📞 4 · When to call 8-1-1: the HealthLink BC line
In one line: 8-1-1 is BC’s official free health line — navigators and registered nurses answer 24 hours a day, every day of the year, with interpretation in 130+ languages.
Who it’s for: Anyone unsure whether — or where — to see a doctor; anyone with questions about symptoms, medication or nutrition; anyone more comfortable outside English (interpreters available). No MSP required.
What to do:
- Dial 8-1-1 from any phone (7-1-1 for the deaf and hard of hearing).
- An English-speaking navigator answers first; for service in Chinese, just say “Mandarin” or “Cantonese” and an interpreter joins the call.
- You’re then transferred as needed. Hours: navigators and registered nurses — 24/7, year-round; registered dietitians and qualified exercise professionals — Mon–Fri 9:00–17:00; pharmacists — every day 17:00 to 9:00 (covering exactly the hours pharmacies are closed).
- Navigators can also help you find community health services and register with the Health Connect Registry (section 2).
- Remember: 811 is not emergency care. With any red-flag symptom from section 3, call 911.
🔗 Official links:
📄 5 · Checking results: Health Gateway & LifeLabs
In one line: Health Gateway is BC’s official personal health-records site and app — lab results, medications, immunizations and more in one place. LifeLabs is Metro Vancouver’s most common private lab, and its MyCareCompass account is the most direct way to see lab results and book blood draws online.
Who it’s for: Residents enrolled in MSP with a BC Services Card — especially anyone who has had lab work done or wants to check medication or vaccine records.
① Health Gateway (official — set this up first): shows lab results (visible about 2–3 days after testing), imaging reports (from Sept 2023), BC pharmacy dispensing records (from 1995), immunization records (from 2009), MSP-billed visit history for the past 7 years, hospital-stay records from 2021, and more.
- First set up your identity in the BC Services Card app on your phone (the only everyday way to log in to Health Gateway; no smartphone? You can request a physical BC Token instead).
- Go to healthgateway.gov.bc.ca or download the Health Gateway app from the app stores.
- Click log in and confirm your identity by scanning with the BC Services Card app.
- Problems? Email HealthGateway@gov.bc.ca; the government service desk offers phone help in 220+ languages.
② LifeLabs MyCareCompass (private lab, free): LifeLabs' old my ehealth / my results systems have been renamed and merged into MyCareCompass.
- Go to the BC entry point bc.mycarecompass.lifelabs.com and click Sign Up.
- Enter your email, set a password and verify by email; then enter your legal name, date of birth and PHN to link your identity.
- Once registered you can view results and history, book blood draws online (less waiting in line), and check in on arrival.
- When a doctor gives you a lab requisition, take it to any LifeLabs location; once results are ready they usually appear in both MyCareCompass and Health Gateway.
One caution: if a result worries you, talk to the doctor who ordered it or call 811 — don’t interpret results or stop medication on your own.
🔗 Official links:
💊 6 · What pharmacists can prescribe (MACS)
In one line: Since June 2023, BC pharmacists can assess 21 common minor ailments and prescribe for them directly, and can also prescribe contraception; the service is free for BC residents (done in person at the pharmacy).
Who it’s for: BC residents (with a PHN) whose symptoms match one of the 21 minor ailments below and who can’t get in to see a doctor.
The 21 minor ailments (official list): mild acne, allergies (allergic rhinitis), canker sores, cold sores, fungal infections, headaches, heartburn, hemorrhoids, hives, impetigo, menstrual pain, nicotine dependence (quitting smoking), pink eye (conjunctivitis), pinworms, shingles, skin rashes (dermatitis), sprains and strains, thrush, upset stomach, uncomplicated urinary tract infection, and yeast infections — plus contraception prescriptions.
Cost: the assessment and prescription are free (the province pays the pharmacy); medication costs extra, but most prescription contraception is free for BC residents, and nicotine replacement therapy (patches, gum, lozenges) is free for one continuous 12-week course per calendar year (MSP enrolment required).
What to do:
- Book online: pick a participating pharmacy and time at bookapharmacist.gov.bc.ca (at busy times you may land in a queue page first — that’s normal).
- Or walk in: most community pharmacies (Shoppers Drug Mart, London Drugs, independents) take walk-in assessments — calling ahead is a good idea.
- Bring your BC Services Card. If the pharmacist decides your case goes beyond a minor ailment, they’ll refer you to a doctor or UPCC — that’s the process working, not a brush-off.
- Booking help: Service BC, 1-833-882-0022 (Mon–Fri 8:00–16:30).
🔗 Official links:
🏥 7 · Same-day care in Greater Victoria: 13 clinics and how to book
In one line: Victoria is served by Island Health. For same-day care there are 13 clinics you can phone: seven UPCCs share one booking line, and six community clinics each take their own calls. Every one of them registers by phone first; “walk-in” in the name does not mean you can show up and queue (section 3’s first-come-first-served rule is the province-wide norm, but these Victoria clinics have all moved to phone registration).
Who it’s for: Anyone without a family doctor, or who can’t get in to see one, with a problem that needs attention today or tomorrow but isn’t life-threatening. With any red flag from section 3, call 911.
① Seven UPCCs, one booking line: 1-833-688-8722. Follow the prompts to pick a centre; a nurse or team member asks a few screening questions, then books you a same-day slot. The first six are open 8:00–20:00 daily; Peninsula is Mon–Fri 8:30–20:00, Sat 8:30–14:30, closed Sunday. Open until evening doesn’t mean slots are left in the evening: they are usually released at opening, so the earlier you call, the better.
| Clinic · Area | Address | When to call |
|---|---|---|
| Downtown Victoria UPCC Downtown | 1107 Pandora Ave | Daily from 8:30 |
| James Bay UPCC James Bay, near the Legislature | Unit B–547 Michigan St | Daily at 8:00 opening |
| Gorge UPCC Gorge / Burnside | 63 Gorge Rd E | Daily at 8:00 opening |
| Esquimalt UPCC Esquimalt | 890 Esquimalt Rd | Daily at 8:00 opening |
| North Quadra UPCC Saanich / Royal Oak | #100–4420 Chatterton Way | Daily at 8:00 opening |
| Westshore UPCC Langford / Westshore | 582 Goldstream Ave | Daily at 8:00 opening |
| Peninsula Primary Care Access Clinic Saanichton, the Peninsula | 2170 Mt Newton Cross Rd | Mon–Sat at 8:30 opening; closed Sunday |
② Six community clinics, each with its own line. If you need to be seen in person, say so on the call; some clinics start with a phone consult and let the doctor decide whether you should come in.
| Clinic · Area | Address | Phone & how to register |
|---|---|---|
| Burnside Family Medical Clinic Burnside | 101 Burnside Rd W | 250-381-4353. Call at 7:30 opening for the same day; no advance booking. |
| Saanich Plaza Medical Clinic Uptown / Saanich | 3544 Blanshard St | 250-475-1101 ext. 1 for a same-day phone visit; in-person visits possible but fill up fast. Mon–Fri 8:00–16:30. |
| Quadra Village Medical Clinic Quadra Village / Hillside | 2631 Quadra St | 250-383-5513. Every visit starts by phone; in-person only if the doctor decides it’s needed. No walk-ins. Mon–Fri 9:00–16:30. |
| Oak Bay Medical Clinic Oak Bay / Jubilee | #101–1640 Oak Bay Ave | 250-598-6744. Call right at 8:30 to register (phone only); phone or in-person depends on the doctor on duty; have your BC Services Card number ready. Mon–Fri 8:00–17:00. |
| Esquimalt Medical Clinic Esquimalt | #3–1153 Esquimalt Rd | 778-265-4305. Community clinic books by phone only. Mon–Fri 9:00–17:00, depending on doctor availability. |
| Colwood Urgent Appointment Clinic Colwood / Westshore | #102–1910 Sooke Rd | 250-940-0877. Call at 8:00 Mon–Fri for the same day; you must register before arriving, no walk-ins; adults and children. |
What to say on the phone: “Are you accepting patients for a same-day, in-person appointment? I can travel to any location in Greater Victoria.”
Who to call first: If distance isn’t an issue, start at opening time with the UPCC line, Burnside or Colwood. Whether you get in today depends on remaining slots and triage.
Currency: These are the clinics’ published intake procedures, checked on 2026-09-16, not live availability. Numbers, hours and procedures change; confirm by phone before you set out. Tap a clinic name to open its official page.
🏙️ Appendix 1 · Ontario, Alberta and Quebec: getting a card and finding a family doctor
In one line: outside BC, most newcomers land in Ontario (Toronto), Alberta (Calgary, Edmonton) or Quebec (Montreal). The first two errands — the health card and the family-doctor queue — work differently in each.
Ontario (OHIP)
- No waiting period. Official wording: "There is no longer a waiting period for OHIP coverage. If you are eligible, you will have immediate health insurance coverage."
- But you must show up. "You must apply for OHIP in person at a ServiceOntario centre." There is no online route.
- Two day-counts, not one: 153 days in any 12-month period, and 153 of the first 183 days immediately after you begin living in Ontario. A long trip home right after landing is what usually breaks this one.
- Work permit holders: you must be "working full-time in Ontario, for an Ontario employer, for at least 6 months".
- The family-doctor queue is Health Care Connect: call 811 (TTY 711) or register online, 24/7. You need your Ontario health card number to register — so get the card first. A confirmation letter comes in the mail, and when you are matched, a referral letter with the clinician’s name; they then contact you for a first appointment.
Alberta (AHCIP)
- Arriving from abroad: you "might be eligible for coverage from the date you established residency" — in practice, covered from day one.
- Moving from another province: "coverage begins on the first day of the third month following the date you established residency in Alberta". Your old province covers those three months.
- Apply within three months of establishing residency; leave it later and the start date is set when your application is processed.
- Military families are covered on the day they establish residency — the wait is waived.
- Day count: "committed to being physically present in Alberta for at least 183 days in any 12-month period".
- There is no province-wide waitlist for a family doctor. Use albertafindaprovider.ca to find clinics taking new patients. For advice, 811 (Health Link) is "a free 24/7 phone line" where "registered nurses answer your call, provide guidance on symptoms, help you decide if you need urgent care, and connect you to local health resources".
Quebec (RAMQ)
- Up to three months — counted from the day you register, not the day you land. Register first, unpack later. It is the single most valuable line in this guide.
- Canadian citizens wait too; children under 18 are exempt.
- The day count is per calendar year: 183 days in a calendar year, not "any 12 months". For anyone who travels, the two produce very different answers.
- Missing documents must be supplied within 12 months, or your start date moves back.
- Three kinds of care stay free during the wait: care needed by victims of domestic violence or sexual assault; care related to pregnancy, childbirth or termination of pregnancy; and infectious diseases with a public-health impact.
- The family-doctor queue is the GAMF, "reserved for people who do not have a family doctor or a SNPPC". For advice, dial 811, "available 24 hours a day, 365 days a year": option 1 Info-Santé, option 2 Info-Social, option 3 the primary care access point.
How this section was checked: against ontario.ca, alberta.ca and quebec.ca on 2026-09-17. The RAMQ site blocks automated access, so the Quebec waiting-period wording was read in a human browser.
🔗 Official links:
🎓 Appendix 2 · Study and work permits: which provinces cover you
In one line: the same permit buys very different things in different provinces — some cover international students not at all, some make them wait a full year. Check your province before you fly.
International students: three situations
Manitoba — "Effective September 1, 2018, individuals with a Study Permit issued by Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada are no longer eligible for Manitoba Health coverage."
Yukon — "You cannot apply to the Yukon Health Insurance Plan if you’re on a study or tourist visa."
Nunavut — not eligible if the student visa is "valid for less than one year", if it "does not have a Nunavut address", or if you are a student "whose permanent residence is a province or territory other than Nunavut". Only a visa of one year or more, carrying a Nunavut address, qualifies.
Nova Scotia — you may apply "on the first day of the 13th month following your date of arrival"; but "there’s no waiting period to apply if you’re employed as a teaching or research assistant". You can "apply up to 90 days before your eligibility date".
Ontario — OHIP generally does not cover international students; universities enrol them in UHIP instead, usually billed with tuition.
BC — a study permit valid for six months or more can be enrolled in MSP (the waiting period in section 1 still applies).
Alberta — a 12-month study permit qualifies; so does a permit of more than 6 but less than 12 months with a school enrolment letter, or a permit from another province with 6+ months left if you transfer to an Alberta school.
Prince Edward Island — a Temporary PEI Health Card, valid for the length of the permit; but the study permit must show you are eligible to work off campus. Students who cannot work off campus are not eligible.
Saskatchewan — "an international student" appears directly on the eligibility list.
Newfoundland & Labrador — the study permit must be for full-time enrolment and valid "at least 12 months".
Work permits: the bar varies by a factor of two
| Province / territory | What the permit must be |
|---|---|
| BC | Valid for 6 months or more (among the lowest bars in Canada) |
| Ontario | Valid permit and full-time work in Ontario for an Ontario employer for 6+ months |
| Manitoba | 12 consecutive months or more; you may apply from the issue date of the permit |
| Nova Scotia | 12 months or more; coverage starts on the day you become a resident or the document issue date, whichever is later |
| Newfoundland & Labrador | 12 months or more; coverage runs from arrival or the start of full-time work, whichever is later |
| Yukon | Open or Yukon-specific employer permit, at least 1 year |
| Northwest Territories | If you have come looking for work, or the job is under 12 months, you "do not need to apply" |
| Nunavut | Employment visa valid for one year or more, and it "must have a Nunavut address"; "temporary workers on employment contracts for less than one year" are not eligible |
| Saskatchewan | "A worker or businessperson who is allowed to live in Canada temporarily for work" qualifies; no minimum stated |
Traps that catch everyone:
- Do not renew at the last minute. Coverage ends when the permit ends, and most provinces will not backdate the gap.
- Where the page is silent, phone — do not guess. The numbers are in the links below, and the clerk will judge your actual documents.
- Family members are assessed separately. Ask about accompanying spouses and children when you apply.
How this section was checked: against each province’s official page on 2026-09-17; Yukon and PEI were verified through official-page archive snapshots.
🔗 Official links:
📋 Link check: all 43 official links on this page
The 20 links in the BC sections were re-checked on 2026-09-17 (previous round 2026-07-12; the Victoria clinics on 2026-09-16). The 23 province-by-province links were checked for the first time on 2026-09-17. Next check due 2026-12-17. Policies, addresses and services change — tell us via the suggestion box on the home page if a link dies.